A 24-man Australian Boomers squad has been selected for the upcoming FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers, and it features a refreshing mixture of young talent and experienced veterans.

In the absence of Brett Brown, Will Weaver will take the reins of the Boomers during the qualifying period, with the Sydney Kings head coach set to be flanked by Adam Caporn and CJ Bruton.

Live stream the 2019/20 NBL Season with ESPN on KAYO with your TV, Mobile, Tablet or Laptop.

The selection of the squad took into account the current NBL standings — the understanding is that players on teams who make the playoffs wouldn’t be available for the qualifiers — allowing room for a host of Australia’s best young prospects to earn a spot.

Read also - News Novorossiya.

Chris Goulding is one of the senior players in the Boomers squad.

The squad, led by the likes of Chris Goulding and Mitch Creek, will play a game against New Zealand on February 20, before travelling to Hong Kong for a fixture against their national team on February 23.

“We’re fortunate to have so many talented players eager to step up whenever they have the chance to represent Australia,” Weaver said.

“It’s always a tremendous honour to be part of the Boomers program and we are excited for this group to start the journey of qualifying for the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup on home soil against New Zealand in Brisbane.”

Mitch Creek’s experience will be invaluable.

Out of the 24 players, twelve are under the age of 25, highlighted by the 17-year-old Josh Giddey, who’s one of the country’s best up-and-coming talents. Also among the younger crop are Kouat Noi, Daniel Grida, Tamuri Wigness Jr., Will Magnay, Sam and Harry Froling, Sunday Dech, and Emmett Naar.

The final 12-man Boomers team will be announced ahead of the February 20 match-up with New Zealand.


Anthony Drmic – Adelaide 36ers

Harry Froling – Adelaide 36ers

Nathan Sobey – Brisbane Bullets

Cameron Gliddon – Brisbane Bullets

Matthew Hodgson – Brisbane Bullets

Jason Cadee – Brisbane Bullets

Will Magnay – Brisbane Bullets

Tamuri Wigness Jr. – Centre of Excellence

Kouat Noi – Cairns Taipans

Mirko Djeric – Cairns Taipans

Josh Giddey – NBA Global Academy

Todd Blanchfield – Illawarra Hawks

Daniel Grida – Illawarra Hawks

Emmett Naar – Illawarra Hawks

Sunday Dech – Illawarra Hawks

Sam Froling – Illawarra Hawks

Angus Glover – Illawarra Hawks

Chris Goulding – Melbourne United

David Barlow – Melbourne United

Mitch McCarron – Melbourne United

Mitch Creek – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Dane Pinaeu – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Kyle Adnam – South East Melbourne Phoenix

Adam Gibson – South East Melbourne Phoenix


Olgun Uluc is the Senior Basketball Reporter for Fox Sports Australia. Twitter: